Hey! It’s been a while!

About three years I guess.

Where did I go?

Well, back in 2012, I started working in the oilfield. There just wasn’t much time for blogging. What can I say about it? I made some good friends and decent money.

Most of you probably know me better as one who likes to draw and paint, but this whole time I’ve been playing around on guitar and bass. I always liked to make stuff up, but I had a hard time remembering what I had played, and no way to record it.

During those three years in the patch, I accumulated some guitars and recording equipment, and I saved enough so that I could focus on music for a while.

In January, I started playing with various musicians around town. At first I rocked the bass, learned some covers, and for the first time in years I was able to carry a tune from beginning to end. Then I switched to electric guitar, which was more challenging.

In the process I met a singer, who, like me, wanted to come up with original music, rather than play other people’s stuff. We began writing.

At first, I played electric guitar. But, when we realized it was just going to be the two of us, I switched over to acoustic guitar and haven’t looked back.

The MW BandA few months later, and we are nearly ready to release our first songs. One of them, I am proud to say, is a tribute to veterans. You can read about how this song came to be on our website.

Actually, I am proud of all our songs. They’ll be out soon, so please stay tuned to the MW Band website. I can’t wait for you to hear this.

Bill is extremely creative when it comes to photography and video. We have a “promoter” now, known as The Head. You can check out The Head on our youtube page.

Needless to say, I’ve been enjoying the creative process. It hasn’t been easy, but finally I am doing what I have wanted to do for years, and I believe we have what it takes to be successful enough so I won’t have to go back to the patch. (Actually I just picked up a road construction job, and the first thing they did was put me on a jack-hammer. Hopefully I won’t have to do that for too long.)

I will post some updates here, maybe some behind-the-scenes stuff. For those who are into social media, we are also on Facebook, Reverb Nation, and Youtube.

Also, I suggest clicking here to join the MW Band mailing list. You’ll be the first to know when our songs come out.

Well, I guess that’s all for now. Thanks for reading! Take a minute and leave a comment if you would. Or send me an email at MWBand.Justin@Gmail.Com. I’d like to know what you’ve been up to.

Best regards,

Justin

 

One thought on “Hey! It’s been a while!

  1. Best wishes for your music endeavors. I know nothing about music but I can make a mean screech blowing on a bade of grass held between my thumbs. Spoze that’s the original reed instrument

Comment.

